Listen to The Bible:
Watch Bible video:

Spread the word and...

Leviticus - YLT

Lev, Le, Lv

The Book of Leviticus - YLT

Click the chapter you want to study.
Below you will also find the summary of this book.

The Book of Leviticus YLT summary

Purpose of The Book of Leviticus:
To instruct Israel in proper worship both in the wilderness and the land.

Major Characters of The Book of Leviticus:
Israelite Priests, Moses, Aaron, Nadab, and Abihu.

Summary of The Book of Leviticus:
The book of Leviticus is a fascinating retelling of the desired religious life for ancient Israel. Various rituals and practices are performed that symbolize and address a variety of practical and significant aspects of people’s life before God. Every aspect of this religious program was designed to reveal different aspects of God’s character as well as bring healing and blessing to those who have faith. While many of the customs appear unusual at first glance, Leviticus offers contemporary readers an alluring invitation to the cleansing, hopeful, personal, and social restoration, and intimate life with God that only the Creator could provide.

Leviticus is the part of God’s story where the Israelites are given instructions on how to be holy, on how to be truly acceptable to God and in right relationships with one another - which they could not achieve without God’s gracious provision.

Author and Dates of The Book of Leviticus:
The book of Leviticus was written by Moses to the Israelites on the plains of Moab as they were preparing to enter the Promised Land - around 1410 B.C. or 1255 B.C., depending on the exact date of the exodus from Egypt.

Outline of The Book of Leviticus:

  1. Regulations of sacrifice (ch. 1-7)
  2. Regulation of Priests (ch. 8-10)
  3. Regulations of Uncleanness and its treatment (ch. 11-16)
    • Day of Atonement (ch. 16)
  4. Prescriptions for practical holiness (ch. 17-27)
    • Regulations of Holy Living (ch. 17-25)
    • Blessings and Curses (ch. 26)
    • Regulations of Vows (ch. 27)

Themes of The Book of Leviticus:
Holiness – The various laws have to do with holiness before God and with love of neighbor.
Repentance – The acknowledgment and turning away from sin.
Forgiveness – The satisfaction and removal of sin.
Restoration – The recovering of a meaningful relationship with God and others.
Doubt and Assurance – Obedience flows from confidence in God’s promises.

Share this page
© 2018 - 2024